people, feelings, and word limits.

0 comments

150.

I don’t talk too much. A hundred and fifty words is enough. It’ll do.

A hundred and fifty words. I remember how you used to do that annoying “no sweat, I can do this” smirk at seeing that as a minimum word count for the essays we did during tests. A hundred and fifty doesn’t seem like an intimidating number, but when you finally get to word number a hundred and forty-eight, you have that sudden slap of realization that you’ve just ended up avoiding the point ‘till it’s too late and there’s no time left.

Like when you tell me to shut up when I talk too much.

I can feel you smirk again as you read this. That godawful grin. Teenage feelings are horrible, horrible things. Like an ache you want out of your system.

But now we’re on word number hundred-fifty-one, and you’ve finished the story without me.

kabel mishka ligot, 7-9-10

school, prompts, and alcohol.

0 comments

(so, majors class now requires us to have blogs. here's my first blog writing exercise thing with the prompt "fix." 100-150 words.

oh, and apologies for not posting. senior year is t-t-t-tedious. hnnnnggg. )

Fix

For the third week in a row, she yanked her tired legs onto the kitchen counter and slowly stood up. Opening the top cupboard, she reached her hands in and fingered the bottle tops. Olive oil… Bottled Sardines… Carpet cleaner... the names went on in her head.

Ah— there it was, she breathed in a sigh of relief. Glancing at the kitchen sink as she got off the counter, no, not there, she thought.

He’d know.

She limped to the bathroom, unscrewing the bottlecap. The putrid smell stung her eyes, making them water as she poured the bottle’s contents into the bowl. After hastily flushing the toilet and hiding the bottle under the sink, she slumped onto the door, tears staining her dirty shirt.

It’s your fault, Mama. It’s not my fault you’re gone. She got up and wiped her eyes. Sober fathers didn’t hit as hard as drunk ones.

kabel mishka ligot, 7-2-10

capitalization, FAQs, and taylor swift.

0 comments

OKAY, KIDS, IT'S FAQ (fake, anticlimatic queries) TIME!

why blog?
because i am shameless and would like to shout things in places other than facebook. i also want to be a writer when i grow up. got to get used to pulling things out of my head. figuratively.

why blogger? why not tumblr? why not wordpress? why not livejournal?
whoa, whoa, whoa there. one question at a time.

why not tumblr? because of the "reblog" function. it encourages plagiarism. which is very painful. sad to say, very few people treat tumblr as a respectable blogging site. and it's so micro. like twitter with colorful stickers. i am on tumblr though! go ch-ch-ch-checkit out! yeah, i guess you get the point.

why not wordpress? something's really just wrong with their tagging system, and i just can't live with that. and i'm so much more familiar with blogger.

why not livejournal? are you kidding? livejournal, although it has autosave, communities, and other lovely features that blogger sadly lacks, is almost on such a personal level. it's more like a social networking site for people who actually type paragraphs, and not exactly something you want to show to people who could admit you into a lovely college. i am on livejournal though.

what do we expect to see here?
i'm not sure. this won't be such a personal diary blog or whatever in which i talk stuff like "i saw my crush today! aieeee such nice fitting pants" or "huhuhuhu my parents never understand! why can't i go to the jonas brothers concert! huhuhuhuhu!" music reviews, maybe. thoughts on things. politics? hmm, i'll think about it.

do you have issues with capitalization?
WHAT ISSUES?!

...why, yes i do. yes. i. do.

knock knock.
who's there?

homeostasis.
homeostasis who?

homeostasis somewhere we can be alone, i'll be waiting, all you have to do is run...
no, i don't want you to be your princess. and no, this is not a love story, and no, i will most definitely not say yes.

don't you have anything else better to do?
don't you have anything else better to read?

boxers or briefs?
boxers most of the time, but it depends if i'm running or not. this conversation is over.

mediocrity, facebook, and the meaning of life

1 comments

it's summer. it has been for a week. the sky is blue, the wind is warm, and i smell bad. i'll be starting classes in a week. that leaves me with free weekends and afternoons. that's a lot of time compared to me when summer actually ends.

yeah, i'm pretty mediocre. i really want to start a blog (again), thanks to my friend ally and the fantastic tavi (both of whom are younger than me! drat!), but almost like everything else i start, you can expect stagnancy i, say, a month or two.

hoorayyy.